Skip to content

What we do

What we do

The Planning Inspectorate for England and Wales is an Executive Agency of the Department for Communities and Local Government (DCLG) and of the Welsh Government. Our work includes national infrastructure planning under the Planning Act 2008 process as amended by the Localism Act 2011; processing planning and enforcement appeals; holding examinations into local plans and community infrastructure levy charging schedules.

We also deal with a wide variety of other planning related casework including listed building consent appeals, advertisement appeals, and reporting on planning applications called in for decision by DCLG, or, in Wales, the Welsh Government.

Department for Communities and Local Government (external link)

Welsh Government (external link)

We also handle a wide range of specialist casework. This includes various compulsory purchase orders; rights of way orders, appeals and requests for direction under Schedule 14; consents for works on common land; exchanges of land involving commons or town/village greens; certain transport and roads orders; appeals and objections in respect of countryside and coastal access; tree preservation appeals; high hedge appeals, and measures relating to environmental protection.

In addition, we process applications for awards of costs arising from our casework.

The procedures for the various types of casework are described in individual guides, which are available on the Planning Portal. However, the basic principle is that all parties should be allowed a fair chance to put forward their point of view whether in writing, or at a public hearing.

Planning Portal (external link)

Recent changes

On 1 April 2012, under the Localism Act 2011, the Planning Inspectorate became the agency responsible for operating the planning process for nationally significant infrastructure projects (NSIPs).

NSIPs are usually large scale developments such as new harbours, power generating stations (including wind farms), and electricity transmission lines, which require a type of consent known as ‘development consent’ under procedures governed by the Planning Act 2008 (and amended by the Localism Act 2011).